Goofy for Gasparilla, Part 6

Over the weekend, Tiffany and I met for our long run on Saturday instead of Sunday.  I planned to run 10 miles, but towards the end of the run, I felt I could go further.  I ran 12 miles easy. 🙂

 

By Florida standards, it was a very cold morning.  At 6:30 a.m., frost still covered the ground as the temperature sat a frigid 36 degrees.  Although we were freezing during our run, it was a great run.  I took it easy at about a 10 minute pace.  It was just the run I needed to boost my confidence for Sunday’s marathon.  I feel ready.

 

Also during our run, we enjoyed the view of a hot air balloon launching in the distance.  We need to run on Saturdays more often!

 

 

I hope to run a few light runs this week, but I will be taking it easy.  I noticed my BFF Hal suggests a 2 mile run the day before the race and funny enough, I am still considering running in the 5k on Saturday since so many of my friends are running in the race.  I will decide Friday morning at the expo if I will run in the 5K or not.

8 thoughts on “Goofy for Gasparilla, Part 6

  1. Congrats on the good run! Sometimes that is all you need to get out of a rut 🙂 Holy cow! It was colder down there then it was up here! We seriously need to pick a race for both of us to do sometime this season! Let me know if anything comes to mind! Chloe

  2. 1. Last Sunday did 10 miles.
    2. Went to sign up for 1/2 marathon (March 22) yesterday…it was sold out.
    3. Felt cocky…signed up and paid for marathon on the same day instead.
    4. 13.2 miles yesterday…under 2 hours.

    Not ready for marathon…shouldn’t have signed up. I like to run between 8:30 and 9:30 pace depending on distance. I think I might have to slow it down to 10:00-10:30 to actually finish. I have only run seven times this month…and 27 days until marathon.

    • @MTAE- WOW! That’s amazing and crazy! Well, at least you know you can do a 1/2 in in a decent time. I would definitely try to slow down to a 10:00 minute pace, at least in the beginning. You can always speed up towards the end. Good luck! I can’t wait to read how your training goes over the next month. You can do it!

  3. There is some crazy race up in Disney – I think it has something to do with a mountian? Then a scavenger hunt – and a 5K? Have you heard of that? We where thinking that would be a good time! 🙂

  4. Hmmm. . . you might just be goofy.

    I found your blog through run4change and am much enjoying reading about another new-t0-running-but-crazy-about-it mom.

    I’m running Gasparilla as my first 26.2. Here’s hoping for great weather for us–oh, and enough finisher’s medals!

Leave a Reply

